Apply From: 1/30/2017 - 4/14/2017

2017 LHD of the Year Award: Deadline Friday, March 31, 11:59 PM PST

Deadline Friday, April 14, 11:59 PM PST

application deadline


Award Database

NACCHO has provided a searchable Model Practices Database to help you find all of our past Model Practice Award winners.



a free collection of local public health tools

Search the Toolbox

Contact Us

Not finding what you're looking for?
The NACCHO team is here to help.

About 2017 Local Health Department of the Year Award

NACCHO’s vision is health, equity, and security for all people in their communities.  Local health departments work daily to realize this vision through their broad mandate for disease prevention, health promotion and health protection. The Local Health Department (LHD) of the Year Award is intended to recognize outstanding work conducted by LHDs around the nation.  It is an opportunity to share the success of our colleagues, and celebrate their achievements in the national spotlight of our annual conference. 


The theme for this year's award is Public Health and Health Care Linkages. Local health departments today must make strategic alliances with traditional and non-traditional partners and stakeholders that hold the power, influence, and resources to bridge the gap between clinical medicine and population health. Thus it seems appropriate that the LHD of the Year award should highlight our peers who are working to establish and maintain linkages and referrals to healthcare services in order to sustain healthy communities. The deadline to submit applications for the LHD of the Year Award is Friday, April 14, 11:59 PM PST.


The successful LHD will be a current, active (dues paying) member of NACCHO.

  1. Awards will be based on the quality of the application and achievement(s) described determined solely in the discretion of NACCHO.
  2. Separate awards will be granted to LHDs based on population size, i.e.
        Small (<25,000-49,999),
        Medium (50,000-499,999),
        Large (500,000 and above).
  3. Up to three awardees (Gold, Silver, and Bronze) will be selected for each LHD size category. Award recipients will be notified in the spring and will be recognized at the 2017 NACCHO Annual Conference.
  4. Applicants are required to pay an application fee (one fee per application) to cover administrative and program maintenance costs. Fees must be paid as part of the applicant’s submission process and are based on the size of the LHD — Small ($35), Medium ($65), Large ($95).