Apply From: 10/30/2016 5:00 PM PST - 12/14/2016 4:00 PM PST

Important Information

Applications will be accepted for the 2017 MRC Challenge Awards from October 31 to December 9, 2016

Application Deadline

Now extended to December 15, 2016

Search Previous Award Winners

NACCHO has provided a searchable Model Practices Database to help you find all of our past Model Practice Application winners.

Contact Us

Not finding what you're looking for?
The NACCHO team is here to help.

About 2017 MRC Challenge Awards

The National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) is pleased to announce a funding opportunity for Medical Reserve Corps (MRC) units.  The 2017 MRC Challenge Award funding is available through a cooperative agreement between NACCHO and the Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) (grant #15 HITEP150032-02-00). Through this competitive funding opportunity, selected MRC units will receive MRC Challenge Awards of up to $13,000.  Any applicable statutory or regulatory requirements, including 45 CFR Part 75 and 2 CFR Part 200, directly apply to this sub-award.  Specific information on allowable costs can be found in 2 CFR Chapter I, Chapter II, Part 200, et al. Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards.

The 2017 MRC Challenge Award is designed to encourage MRC units to identify and implement innovative projects that align with nationally recognized health initiatives, are significant at the local level, and demonstrate capability within the MRC network.

Proposed projects may be designed to employ a number of approaches, such as educational programs, formation of unique partnerships and coalitions, community outreach, and creation of innovative tools or systems. Unit leaders can also use this opportunity to evaluate their programs and translate the processes and outcomes through research. 

The MRC Challenge Award is a competitive award open to MRC units that meet the eligibility requirements.  The online application period is from October 31, 2016 to December 9, 2016.  MRC units that are selected to receive the 2017 Challenge Award will be notified no later than February 1, 2017.  Selected MRC units will receive an electronic copy of the Challenge Award contract with their notificaction.  It is the responsibility of the MRC unit to return a signed copy of the contract no later than March 31, 2017.  Funding for awards will be sent within 2-4 weeks after receipt of the complete and signed contract.  We are unable to make content changes to the contract or extend the deadline for receipt of the contract.  Units are encouraged to be proactive in coordinating grant approval process within their housing agency or local jurisdiction to avoid possible delays.

The Request for Application for the 2017 MRC Challenge Award has complete details on the award, eligibility requirements, application questions, and other important information.  Please read thoroughly before applying.

Eligibility Requirements

Minimum eligibility requirements for the MRC Challenge Awards include the following:

  1. MRC units must have an account at NACCHO’s Awards website ( ) to submit an application.
  2. Applicants that are selected for funding will ensure their unit profiles are updated with the MRC Program Office prior to acceptance of an award.  Awardees will be notified in early February and will be asked to update their profile at that time through the website (  A fully updated unit profile is one in which all questions have been answered or updated (particularly unit leader contact information, numbers of volunteers, and activity reports, if applicable).  The MRC Program Office strongly encourages units to update their unit profiles with any previously unreported activities for the calendar year, as well as new activities. 
  3. Applicants must be eligible to receive federal funds through their housing/sponsoring agency or be a 501(c) (3) non-profit organization.
  4. Applicants must provide both their Employer Identification Number (EIN) and their Duns & Bradstreet Number (DUNS), as required by Federal regulations.
  5. New MRC units applying for an FY2016-2017 MRC Challenge Award must be registered with the MRC Program Office by October 31, 2016.  Likewise, prospective MRC units who are interested in applying for an award must follow the MRC Program Office’s registration process, have submitted their prospective unit’s application for registration, and have been confirmed by their Regional Coordinator no later than October 31, 2016 to be eligible.  A prospective MRC unit which has applied for a NACCHO MRC Award will not be awarded funding until it is an approved and registered MRC unit.
  6. MRC Units selected for funding will receive a notification of award and contractual agreement.  Units that accept the funding agree to comply with the terms of agreement outlined in the contractual agreement and submit all documents within the terms of agreement timeframe.  NACCHO will not be able to accept any requests for changes to the content language of the contractual agreement.  Requests for corrections or changes to designated approving authorities, housing agencies, or addresses to the contract must be submitted by February 28, 2017.   

The Application Process


October 31, 2016:  MRC Challenge Award applications open.


Extended to December 15, 2016:  MRC Challenge Award applications close.


December 16, 2016:  Application review period begins.


January 20, 2017:  Application review period ends.


January 25, 2017:  Notice of Awards released to awardees.



March 31, 2017:  Date that NACCHO must receive signed contracts and Certification of Non Debarment forms. Unfortunately, no contract extensions may be granted.


Late September, 2017:  Six-month project evaluation survey will be sent out.  All award recipients are required to complete this report.


Late March 2018:  Final project evaluation survey will be sent out.  All award recipients are required to complete this report.